top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBhav Sian

What can’t you go without?

“When that little something completes your day.”


It was last Friday morning and there was that ‘happy Friday’ vibes in the house with upbeat music playing to suddenly Spotify decided to give us iPhone users a mini panic. The app stopped working – the music stopped and the confused questions started. Oh why’s it stopped? Where’s the music gone? What's happening?! I get my phone and click straight onto the app for it to open and then find it closes itself within seconds.

And then came all my un-proficient methods to try and fix the app – delete, uninstall, reinstall, contact my pro-tech cousin, get frustrated and then finally go onto Google and see oh it’s a common problem around the world. That made it a little bit better I guess.

Spotify wasn’t accessible for me for around an hour that morning and it got me thinking that I can’t go without music without doubt. The influence that music has in my life is unique and I can imagine that this is something most of you feel too, maybe? The power music has on our emotions is one like no other. We create our own comfort, escape and relationship with music – a soulful friendship that never lets us down.



So I learnt quickly that one thing I couldn’t go without is music and my Spotify app – oh, the feeling of thinking I lost my music wasn’t a great feeling at all!


But it was from this panic that the presenter on BBC Asian Network asked that afternoon the question of ‘what you can’t go without?’ And that got me thinking what are the things that you can’t go without? We all have a least one thing that we can’t go without and it will probably be the most expected or obvious thing or the least recognised because sometimes we can end up taking those things for granted.

To make it a little fun I got a few family and friends involved with that question and I was surprised to see how many got back to me. There were the obvious givens of 'family' and 'friends' but it is clear to say that a ‘cup of tea’ and ‘coffee' were both common things that a lot of you can’t go without. There were a few other things that were interesting to read – let’s see if you can spot yours below?



77 views
bottom of page